Catching up and editing

3/11/16

Today I took some time to go over and edit some of the sounds I had recorded on Mondays studio session. In total there was about 40 odd different sounds to play with. However, I only implemented a few of them into the project.

Originally I had planned to make the cane sound with the coat hanger “whoosh,” but I just couldn’t get it sounding right. I ended up taking the sound of the amp buzz and creating the cane spin. I did this by automating the volume so that it went from full volume to zero very rapidly which created a spinning noise. I still used the sounds from the coat hanger at the start and end of the cane to make it a bit more comical.

cane-spin

I also ended up using it as the jump sounds in the zombie section of the clip. When the main character jumps up from the tree trunk. As well as a layer for when the bird gets slapped onto the ground.

I also began to make the sound for the machine breaking using some of the glass smashes we had recorded. I ended up layering up the sound of glass about 3 times as the initial sound was pretty weak. The smash in combination with the glass landing on concrete ended out looking good and I was happy with the result.

Like the Footsteps, I created a separate folder for all these sounds so that they were in order. I think this is a wise idea, god knows how many sounds I’m going to end up with. Things might get a little confusing…

Leave a comment